Aides, concours & appels

"Andrea Ceraso" Rome Award 2023

Date limite de candidature : jeudi 15 juin 2023

SHE LIVES — the leading European musical association for promoting the dissemination of contemporary music— is honoured to announce the third edition of the ‘Andrea Ceraso’ Rome Award Composition Competition. This initiative is organised in collaboration with Eufonia, a Roman association committed to music appreciation since 2006.

The competition celebrates, and is in memory of, the young Conductor Andrea Ceraso, who passed away unexpectedly in May 2020. In both Rome and Italy, Andrea played an important role in highlighting the music of our time. 

The competition is open to composers of all ages and nationalities, without restrictions of gender, ideas, religious affiliation etc.

The competition theme is the composition of a piece involving at least one of the following instruments (from the solo instrument to the entire ensemble), including all the possible combinations (duo, trio, quartet, etc.). The instruments available are (maximum instrumentation):

  • Piano – one player
  • Clarinet in Bb, in A, in  C (doubling Piccolo Clarinet in Eb, Bass Clarinet in Bb) – one player
  • Flute – descending to B  with open holes (doubling Piccolo, Bass Flute, Alto Flute in G) – one player
  • 2 Violins
  • 1 Viola
  • 1 Cello

Prepared piano, the use of electronics, and fixed media are allowed.

Live electronics are not allowed.

The duration of the piece must not exceed 15 minutes. There are no minimum duration limits.